Windows Vista and Windows 7 System Restore - AOMEI

Posted by @AOMEI

December 25, 2014

Before restore Windows 7/Vista system, there are something should know. Windows will create restore points when certain situation occurs. Meanwhile, some settings may affect restore, you can do adjustment to meet your own need.

Contents

When to Create System Restore Points

Windows will create system restore points automatically when the following situation happens:

  • Install new application or driver.
  • Uninstall or install certain programs.
  • Install new updates
  • Automatically on a daily interval
  • Creating one manually.

When you use “System Restore” to run a previous restore point, it will then create a new point prior in case of system wrong happen. But if you do it in Safe Mode, or system restore from boot, the restore point of current state will not be created.

Before Restore You Should Know

Meanwhile, 300 MB free space is required in each hard drive for System Restore monitoring. System Restore can set up using 15% hard disk space at maximum. When the drive runs out space, older ones of restore points will be deleted to maintain particular usage volume. This setting allows users to keep restore points for few weeks. Some users who concerns more about system performance and disk space may turn off system restore completely, which makes files stored on a hard disk partition will not be system restore monitoring and will not run a backup or restore. No matter you are restoring Windows vista or seven.

To run system restore now, type “system restore” in start menu, right click it, run as administrator, choose a different restore point from the list window, confirm restore point and finish; and then you will see the restore screen going like this: “please wait while your windows files and settings are being restored, System Restore is initializing…” . when finally restore completed, a popup windows with success information goes: “System Restore completed successfully. The system has been restored to Date xxx-time xxx. Your documents have not been affected.” If this date-time point didn’t solve your problem made your do restore, you can Undo System Restore.

AOMEI Backupper to do restore

In the Home Screen, you can see restore on the left. If you click restore on first running this software, you can see nothing listed in the window, because it requires backup first. Therefore, before you do restore, you can do backup options like disk or partition or even system backup.

Interface of Backupper

Now you can see the restore list when you click restore again. Choose one to run.

If there’s still question on backup or anything concerns to our products, please contact us.

Download Free AOMEI Backupper

More Articles