Partition or Volume Restore

Posted by @AOMEI

March 15, 2017

This function can help to restore partition or volume. If the data or file on the partition or volume has been damaged or lost, the backed up image file can be used to restore partition/volume to the normal state.

This feature is used to restore a particular partition or volume. If the data on the partition is damaged, you can quickly restore it to the normal state with the backed up image file.

To restore partition/volume:

  1. In the left tab page, select Restore. From in the list box select the backup that you want to restore. Click Next to continue.
  2. Partition Restore
  3. Select a point-in-time and click the Next button. The Backup type and Created time is helps determine the appropriate point in time.
  4. Select-Time-Point
  5. In this page, AOMEI Backupper lists the partitions or volumes contained in this image file. Select one of the partitions you want to restore, and click Next to continue.
  6. Select Partition
  7. Select a destination partition or an unallocated space, to which to restore the selected partition in the previous step. Click Next.
  8. Select Destination
  9. Now, enter the "Operation Summary" page to preview the restore operation to be executed. If you want to adjust partitions, in the left bottom click "Edit the size of partition". Other choices - "Sector by sector restore" and "Align partition to optimize for SSD" are optional.
  10. Edit
  11. Click Start Restore and wait for the process to complete, and then click Finish.

For greater detail with screenshots, see: How to Restore Partition/Volume.

Tips:
  • If you regularly back up your partition/volume, each backup will generate an image at a given time, so there may be multiple time points to choose from.
  • The destination disk/partition will be totally overwritten. If the destination contains any essential data, it should first be copied to another location.
  • If any applications are running on the destination partition/disk, AOMEI Backupper will require that you restart computer and will execute the restore operation in "Restart Mode".